Get Airbrushed Skin With The Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation #VeganAlert

Get Airbrushed Skin With The Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation #VeganAlert

So I bought and tried out the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation…

I have used so many different foundations and I still haven’t found my perfect one. I’m so jealous of those people who have one that they swear by. I have combination skin so some parts of my face are very sensitive and some parts are so robust a bullet probably couldn’t penetrate. When I’m hormonal my skin is very prone to acne but with a good skin care routine I can minimize the flare up. I had been using MAC Studio Fix foundation for about 2 years and I was soooo done. It just wasn’t compatible with my skin anymore and was causing more damage to it. On my search for the perfect foundation I found the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation.

Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation 
What Is the Coverage Like?

So let’s talk about the coverage first. If you’re a make-up lover like me or just have a lot of blemishes, the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation is perfect for full coverage. I use this foundation every day and I don’t even use concealer because it covers everything. When I pump out the foundation I only need about two pumps and this is more than enough. If you use too much however, it does look a bit cakey. I would say depending on the brush you are using to apply it, your make-up can come out looking quite different. Using a clean, fresh brush will definitely give you the perfect application. Of course you can use any brush but if there is any foundation build-up it will show on your face.

What Is The Colour Like?

In terms of the colour and shade… I love it. Not only does the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation come in a wide variety of skin shades from light to dark, they also have undertones of each colour. My issue with foundation usually is that I have to settle for the right shade but the wrong undertone. I wanted a foundation that was yellowy/orangey and made my skin look alive and youthful not ashy. The foundation succeeded on this point.

What Is it Like On Your Skin?

The foundation itself is very thick, probably the thickest I’ve ever used; but this would be to do with the coverage. The fact that I only need to use one layer is nice as there is no need for buildup and blocked pores. I’m on the quest for perfect skin so I have been looking after it quite well recently. If you’re going to use this foundation I’d recommend it for someone with a good skincare regime otherwise the thickness could cause a whole lot of issues in my opinions.

I didn’t like the formula of the MAC foundations as it was causing irritation. With the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation I haven’t noticed any skin irritation THANK THE LAWD. I have a lot of hyperpigmentation and for someone who wants good full coverage with a foundation that won’t do any further damage to your skin this is the one for you. I would say to be careful if you don’t have the best skin care regime or if you have extremely sensitive skin because there is a lot of silicone in the product. BUT with a good primer you’ll be fine.

Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Is It Worth It?

The Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation is definitely my new go-to foundation. It was £27 from Selfridges in Oxford Street and I was able to try it on before I bought it. The price is somewhere between high-street and designer but I realized that with skin products – especially if you have sensitive skin – you might have to pay a little bit more to get something that works for you. #VeganAlert – I love this product even more because it is vegan and cruelty-free. It has the strongest matte finish I’ve ever seen and proper full coverage.

I think I’d like to try a foundation similar to this but that is slightly less matte, so if you have any suggestions, please let me know! Have you tried the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation before? Would you try it out?
Follow:

26 Comments

  1. July 5, 2017 / 2:12 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with this review on KVD! I love all of her products. The coverage s complete, the price isn’t too bad and the shade range is bomb! You mentioned wanting to try another foundation, less matte…I have a suggestion. I’m gonna share this post and let cha know!

    • Whitney Abigail
      July 5, 2017 / 9:42 pm

      Thanks hun! Oooh let me know I’ll keep an eye out for the suggestion 🙂

  2. July 6, 2017 / 12:45 am

    I loved how honest your review was. It is clear that you like this product but you were still honest that there are some draw backs like it being thicker than some others. It really helps get a good idea of the product. Thank you.

  3. Nelu Mbingu
    July 6, 2017 / 1:29 am

    To be honest, I don’t put much effort into how I look. But when I do, your advice will come in handy.

  4. July 6, 2017 / 3:24 pm

    I love your review! I swear by the Kat Von D Lock-It foundation!!!! I have combination skin (very dry in my cheeks and oily in my T-Zone) and it’s my favorite!!!

  5. July 6, 2017 / 8:15 pm

    I’ve seen sooo many reviews of this foundation, I’ll definitely have to give a go as I’ve the coverage is amazing! But I’ve also heard it goes thick and cakey

  6. July 6, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    I tend to avoid foundation in the summer as my skins gets so greasy in the heat, looks like a good one for winter though as I hate layers of foundation clogging my pores.

  7. July 6, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    i haven’t heard of the Kat Von D Lock-It foundation before. It sounds too heavy for my skin but I loved reading your review.

  8. July 6, 2017 / 9:59 pm

    I must admit that I haven’t tried Kat Von D’s foundation. I’m shocked and truly excited for her range. She’s an awesomely talented woman. I’m sure if give it a chance if I wore foundation, I’d support her. #GirlPower

  9. July 6, 2017 / 11:55 pm

    That looks like a great foundation. I have to admit, that packaging is just so cool! I bet I’d buy that just for the package lol

  10. My Teen Guide
    July 7, 2017 / 7:10 am

    I don’t wear make up often and if I do, it would be very light make up – lipstick, blush, mascara, and a little loose powder. I haven’t heard of the Kat Von D foundation. I am wondering if it is only available in Europe? Thanks for your honest review of the product.

  11. July 7, 2017 / 10:19 am

    Interesting. I am not a beauty type of person, but always love to hear reviews about different products! There’s so much makeup products these days, can’t choose what to buy!

  12. July 7, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    Kat Von D is so spot on sometimes, this foundation looks so promising. She also usually has a wide range of colors to match her buyers, I love that about her.

  13. July 7, 2017 / 7:33 pm

    I’ve been looking for a full coverage make up. I didn’t know Kat Von D actually did make up! The price is right too The fact that its thick may help cover my bags under my eyes a bit better too!

  14. July 7, 2017 / 11:20 pm

    In the summer I don’t wear a lot of make-up, so I’ll passing your post along to my daughter. I know she too has been on a quest to find one that works for her. I’m sure she’ll appreciate that it’s thicker and will therefore provide better coverage. x

  15. July 8, 2017 / 11:30 am

    This looks like just what I need. I have a lot of scarring from acne and like a heavy coverage foundation. Double Wear dries out on my skin so have to give this a try.

  16. July 8, 2017 / 9:09 pm

    I don’t wear foundation and haven’t heard of this brand but I love that it is vegan. Kaz 🙂

  17. July 9, 2017 / 7:05 am

    This foundation sounds great! I used MAC for so long but my skin is sensitive and it was always causing my skin to break out. Moved to Make up Forever which has been great but this sounds awesome!

  18. July 9, 2017 / 9:30 pm

    I have dry skin and I find this really clings to my skin, even when I use a beauty blender. I managed to get a sample from a friend which helped with my decision. x

  19. July 9, 2017 / 10:40 pm

    I swear by a good foundation – without that, nothing else quite looks ‘right’ does it? I haven’t tried this one, but love the sound of the coverage it provides. x

  20. Elizabeth O
    July 10, 2017 / 9:40 am

    I’m glad you found a new foundation that works for your skin. For years, I could never find what worked well for me until Iman’s line. I wear very little makeup now, so it no longer matters.

  21. July 13, 2017 / 3:44 pm

    I have hard time finding the foundation that goes with my skin without looking cakey. I still haven’t found one. I love that this product is cruelty free as I only use natural products. I will check this out. Thanks for the reccomdation

  22. August 26, 2017 / 9:15 am

    I see you don’t monetize your blog, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn additional bucks every month because you’ve got hi quality
    content. If you want to know how to make extra $$$, search for:
    best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools
    86Kristeen recently posted…86KristeenMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge